The Table of Memory

tabletop-memory

O all you host of heaven! O earth! what else?
And shall I couple hell? O, fie! Hold, hold, my heart;
And you, my sinews, grow not instant old,
But bear me stiffly up. Remember thee!
Ay, thou poor ghost, while memory holds a seat
In this distracted globe. Remember thee!
Yea, from the table of my memory
I’ll wipe away all trivial fond records,
All saws of books, all forms, all pressures past,
That youth and observation copied there;
And thy commandment all alone shall live
Within the book and volume of my brain,
Unmix’d with baser matter: yes, by heaven!

Hamlet

One comment on “The Table of Memory

  1. […] walk led to the trough of truth by the ancient earthworks of Stainsby. Last year we walked the table of memory via Hodmire hill to the burial place of the philosopher Thomas Hobbes.  This year we shall walk to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

